Officer Election Results

TACT Election Results:  The nominees for TACT office have all been elected!  The officers take office June 1st, they are as follows: 


  • President-Elect:  Cynthia Simpson (Sam Houston State University)
  • Vice-President of Legislative Affairs: Mary Jo Garcia Biggs (Texas State University)
  • Vice-President of Membership: Chad Rose (Sam Houston State University)

·         Hard Choices Ahead: Performance and Policy in Texas Higher Education: The Institute for Research on Higher Education in conjunction with The National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education released a report detailing mismatched priorities and incompatible goals within Texas Higher Education.  Read the full article here. 

·         Now is the perfect time to donate to the GRF.  As TACT continues formulating plans and strategies for the next Legislative Session now is a great time to make a donation to the James M. Pucket, Ph.D. Government Relations Fund.  TACT regularly monitors and attends policy meetings for state agencies like the THECB and keeps a watchful eye and ear on all pertinent committees in the state Legislature.  Your gift helps TACT keep fighting on your behalf.  Donate here! 

·         The TACT Spring Membership Drive is in full force!  New or renewing members can join now for the discounted price of only $125, which includes TACT membership and the Educators’ Professional Liability Insurance.  The price is good through May 31st, so tell your colleagues now, before it’s too late!